All That Glitters

Take 52 Week #50: Sparkle

With the hustle and bustle of Christmas, finding time to take pictures is excruciatingly hard these days. But I’m not giving up the challenge this close to the finish line.

I have mentioned before that some of my favourite ornaments are from Ten Thousand Villages.  Over the years, I have collected several star ornaments from there, as well as from my infamous bartering victory in Malawi. So this year, I combined them all together on a lit garland in my living room. Having them all hanging collectively, representing so many artisans and countries of the world, makes me happy.

IMG_7917 - Version 2The depth of field obscures the shape, but this shot was taken of the largest of my stars. It is about six inches in diameter and made of tiny pieces of metal wrapped around a frame. The whole thing is sprayed gold and dusted with iridescent sparkles. I liked the detail of the glitter in this shallower view, which is why I opted to use this shot for this week’s theme.

All that glitters is spray paint and craft sparkles.

Picture Stats:

Shutter: 1/20
Aperture: f/2.8 
ISO: 1600

To see all of my photos in this year-long challenge, click here.

