A Palette of Creamy Colours

Take 52 Week #4: Creamy

On this dreary and extremely cold Monday morning, some of my little students were not enthusiastic about being pulled from their warm beds. Neither was I, to be blunt.

But then cupboards opened, protective paint shirts were gathered. Creamy, velvety paint was poured and a creative adventure was underway. Paint and paper are common childhood necessities. But add marbles and the fun factor is off the charts. Soon there was grins and giggles.

IMG_2471 - Version 2I used our classroom camera for this shot, a Canon T3. So it had simply a kit lens and didn’t have the f/2.8 aperture of my Tamron lens at home. But I liked this particular image because of the combination of leading lines and bold colour. I wanted to focus on the front marbles – I love that swirled yellow glob of paint on the front right marble that looked so rich and creamy. And I like the bokeh effect on the right side of this photo – as the lines of paint fade out of focus, it blurs into tiny circles of light.

In a winter world defined by drastic white, today colour reigned.

Picture Stats:

Shutter: 1/125
Aperture: f/5.6
ISO: 3200

To see all of my photos in the 2014 challenge, click here.
2013 photos.
2012 photos (Themes related to our recent trip to Malawi).

