5 Bells

Take 52 Week #24: 5 o’clock

It’s 5:04 p.m. I should be thinking about feeding my off-spring. Instead, I’m hovered over a vase, attempting to photograph this bizarre flower on my kitchen table.

The neccessary choice of a woman in a photo challenge.

IMG_0705 - Version 2

I opted for the side profile of this flower – I liked the shadows on the leaves and the bokeh in the background. I also like the clear view of the sharp barbs on the end of the flower’s petals and the almost feathery centre. If anyone knows what this crazy thing is, please post and let me know.

I could have gone with 5 a.m, I suppose. But generally, the only thing I’m looking at that early in the morning is the inside of my eyelids. I’d prefer to keep it that way.

Shutter: 1/640
Aperture: f/2.8
ISO: 100

To see all of my photos in the 2014 challenge, click here.

2013 photos.

2012 photos (Themes related to our 2011 trip to Malawi).

