Bent Out Of Shape

Take 52 Week #25: Bendy

Get ready for lacklustre: I’m unashamedly ‘mailing it in’ this week.

It’s the last week of my school contract, in one of the busiest years in memory.

So I went with the first thing I could think of on this theme, and didn’t take copious amounts of time or effort to compose a shot. It will likely be the least original and most anti-climactic photo of the year. Hopefully, somewhere over the summer, I’ll make up for it with something utterly brilliant.

IMG_0808 - Version 2

I opted to leave this one colour, so that little bead of juice in the straw looked stark orange next to the sheer white curtain in behind. Even with my 2.8 aperture, this cloudy day made for some shadows I would have preferred to lose. But I wanted the kink in the straw in sharp focus and I think that aspect worked.

There. One more thing checked off my to-do list. And the only thing bent out of shape in the process was the straw.

Shutter: 1/800
Aperture: f/2.8
ISO: 100

To see all of my photos in the 2014 challenge, click here.

2013 photos.

2012 photos (Themes related to our 2011 trip to Malawi).

