Don’t Drink the Water

Take 52 Week #28: Water

IMG_0969 - Version 2Don’t let this serene scene fool you. It’s as pretty as a postcard here at sunset, but when this was taken Monday night, there was an e-coli advisory on this lake. The peasants rejoiced when it was lifted yesterday and this beach was packed all afternoon.

I narrowed down this week’s shot to four water-themed photographs from around camp this week. I polled several members of my family for their favourite, and every one emphatically said this one. I had moodier, more artistic shots in the bunch, but when I pressed my son on why he chose this one he told me: “The water is the focus, not the sun”, and that’s what I was going for. Can’t argue with popular opinion.

The lake was like glass when I took this – it’s rare to have a night with so little breeze that there isn’t a ripple. I tried several different shots and crops, but the angle of the sparkling shoreline in the foreground caught my eye. I like the contrasts of this particular picture- the creamy, custard sun and the shadows of the trees, sand, horizon and canoe.

Saskatchewan’s motto is “Land of Living Skies”. But with all due respect to scriptures, between the bugs and the algae, Jesus may have been mistaken about being the only living water.

Shutter: 1/3200
Aperture: f/2.8
ISO: 100

To see all of my photos in the 2014 challenge, click here.

2013 photos.

2012 photos (Themes related to our 2011 trip to Malawi).

